Favorite driver's magazines

"Vauxhall", August 1, 2013

NOVAPOWERING

Pushing any Vauxhall engine to the limit isn’t easy, but after seven years, Gareth Chapman has built one of the highest spec C20XEs in the country.

WORDS Dougie

PHOTO Chris Wallbank

FAST FACTS

* QED throttle bodies on dry sumped XE

* Quaife straight-cut gearbox

* Polycarbonate windows

* Kevlar bucket seats

* OMP roll cage

I have been writing about Vauxhalls since 2005. During the last eight years, I’ve typed the tale of all sorts of cars, from classic Vivas right up to the latest VXR8. Looking back through old issues of Total Vauxhall, I think to myself, one day I will go through them all and make a record of each and every car I’ve written a feature about. I suspect (though I have no proof) that the most popular car will be the Nova. And I’ll tell you what, eight years is a long time. Things have changed a lot.

The Nova was old, even back then, but fashions were a lot different. Styling comes, and then it goes. But one thing will never change – it’s been the same ever since those noble pioneers first starting shoehorning big, two-litre motors into Novas at the start of the ’90s. The insatiable, uncompromising, all encompassing need to make the little cars go as fast as possible. It’s a job that will never end – style is temporary, performance is permanent.

As you may have guessed, the Nova featured here is not messing about. The powerplant of choice is a very high-spec XE, which is probably not too far off early touring car power. It has been built to not only tear up the dragstrip, but also to tackle corners with equal ferocity.

SILVER LINING